Review: NYX Butter Lipstick in “Lollies”

Hey guys!

Back again with a review on the NYX Butter Lipstick. I must say, I was quite disappointed with the formula of these as I had heard great things about it. I bought the shade “Lollies” as I was looking for a peachy/coral shade for the summertime. It retails for $11.95 at Priceline.

[image]

//

[swatch]

Firstly, this product is very moisturising and almost feels like a lip balm. It is not drying whatsoever.

There is a decent amount of pigment – more than what you would get in a tinted lip balm.

However, once applied to the lips, it highlights every bit of dryness or imperfection! My lips weren’t that chapped to begin with and I thought with the name of this product being “Butter Lipstick” that it would hide the dryness on my lips, but that was not the case. The colour also appears different on my lips – pastier, and it washes me out. On my lips, the white undertone is very evident, and maybe paler and cooler skin tones would suit this better, which might be the problem with the

The packaging is made of plastic with the colour of the tube being the colour of the lipstick and also having a clear centre so that you can also see the colour of the product inside.

It is cute and the cap clicks shut, which is a great function as it prevents the lipstick from accidentally smearing all over your purse.

Pros:

  • Moisturising
  • A wide range of colours
  • Decent price (especially when compared to other brands at the drugstore such as Revlon, whose lip products can retail for as high as $27)
  • Aspects of the packaging

Cons: (at least for the shade I picked)

  • Highlights any dryness that you have on your lips
  • Can wash you out if it doesn’t suit your skin tone
  • Packaging is made of a cheap plastic

Overall, I am a tad disappointed with this product as I had high hopes for it.

I am not sure if I received a ‘dud’ product, if the rest of the range is like this. However, I do like the array of colours that NYX offers.

Love, Chloe X

Leave a Reply

