Summer Beauty Essentials

With the hot season, beaches and endless flies upon us, we need to start thinking about what beauty products are essential to surviving the blistering hot summers of Australia. Typically, I don’t really wear too much makeup in the summertime, as I know that it’s just going to sweat off but when I do, here are my must-haves:

cannot go out of the house without at least my brows done, as it is something so small yet so significant in making you look put together. In the colder seasons I like to shape my brows with a pencil or powder but when the temperatures hit as high as the thirties, the most I do is sweep a tinted brow gel through my eyebrows. Alongside this, I tweeze my brows as often as possible (normally once a week) to keep a general shape, because I don’t shape them with any other product. I have sparse areas in my eyebrows but I couldn’t really care too much as a brow gel with fibres fills them in a little.
The product I use is the ‘Essence Make Me Brow’, which is an alleged dupe of the ‘Benefit Gimme Brow’, although I really do want to try out the latter to see if it worth all of the hype and if it really compares. They both have tiny spoolies at the end, so it makes it really easy for you to get into specific areas of the brow without making a mess, which is what I really love about them. However, you can’t beat the price tag of the Essence one, retailing at $5.10 at Priceline. The Benefit retails for $39 at Myers.
_dsf9673

Next up are facial sprays. I have only recently discovered makeup setting sprays, and I have no idea what I did before! Makeup sprays are a godsend in the summertime. They keep your makeup from looking powdery (which can happen in hot weather when you’re trying to mattify your oil) and they lock the products in, preventing them from slipping and sliding all around the place. I have a few on my list that I want to try but the one I currently own is the ‘Mario Badescu Facial Spray with Rosewater’. It has a pleasant rose smell, sprays in a find mist and is nice and cooling on the skin. My face doesn’t get too oily, so this works just fine for me. It has a pretty affordable price tag, especially considering how big the bottle is. The 236mL bottle retails for $17 at Mecca Maxima. However, some of the other sprays I want to try are the:

  • NYX Matte Finish Setting Spray
  • Gerad Cosmetics Slay All Day
  • Urban Decay All Nighter Setting Spray
  • Skindinavia Makeup Finishing Spray

_DSF9674.JPG
Waterproof mascaras are also another essential item for hot summer days. It immediately opens up your eyes! However, racoon eyes are not attractive on anyone, so to prevent that smudging, a waterproof version comes in handy. My lashes are stick straight and point straight down, so the only formula that works for holding my lashes in a curl is waterproof anyways. I like a lightweight, mousey formula, so that it doesn’t weigh my eyelashes down. My favourite mascara (that I’ve found so far) has definitely got to be the ‘Maybelline Full n Soft Waterproof Mascara’. It isn’t too difficult to remove, holds a curl well and is very affordable at $10.
Another mascara that I like, but is more on the pricier side ($47!) is the ‘Benefit Roller Lash’. This formula seems to hold a curl pretty well despite the fact that it is not waterproof.
A bronzer is great for the summertime to further enhance your tan, and depending on what look you’re going for, either a matte or luminous bronzer would look amazing. It gives you more colour to your face that looks natural and effortless. My favourite matte bronzer is the ‘Benefit Hoola Bronzer’ as it is the perfect shade for my skin tone and gives me a nicely bronzed look. This product retails for $51 at Myers. However, for a more goddess-like look, I prefer a luminous bronzer, and I always turn to a baked version for this. My favourite would have to be the ‘Napoleon Perdis Bronze Patrol’ (which I have hit major pan on!). It is a lovely marbled bronzer with swirls of highlight in it to give you a gorgeous glow. The only downside to this product is the fact that it costs $60.

Instead of a fully opaque lipstick, I tend to stick to tinted lip balms or occasionally glosses in the summer for a fuss-free pop of colour. They don’t dry out your lips and you once you put them on, you don’t have to worry about them at all. I love the Burt’s Bees Naturally Tinted Lip Balms (which retail for $12.99 at Pricelline) and the Maybelline Baby Lips Loves Color (which retail for $3.95 at Priceline). [I need to repurchase these as I have lost them from last Summer]. A majorly important fact is that my lip balms contain sun protection, because lips are the part of our body that we tend to neglect when slathering on sunscreen. As for glosses, I adore the NYX Butter Glosses because they have just the right amount of “stick” (so that they don’t slide off of your lips) and pigment. These retail for $9.95 at Priceline.

_DSF9683.JPG
left: Angel Food Cake // right: Madeline

Finally, the single most important beauty product for Summer is sunscreen! Your skin will thank you when you ‘Slip, Slop, Slap, Seek, Slide’. It lowers the risk of skin cancer, slows down the formation of fine lines and wrinkles and prevents your skin from becoming damaged. Even if you’re not wearing makeup, the number one thing you MUST put on is sunscreen with an SPF of at least 30+ – whether there are clouds looming or not!
There are a million sunscreens to cater to different skin types, whether it be sensitive, oily or dry, so you are bound to find one that suits you.
Personally, I like to wear a normal facial sunscreen or a tinted one if I feel I need it. I use the Neutrogena Ultra-Sheer Face Sunscreen (which I just ran out of!) or the Ego Sun Sense Daily Face Invisible Tint Finish.
For my body, I use the Banana Boat Sport SPF 50+ Sunscreen.
_DSF9684.JPG

Hope you enjoyed reading through my summer beauty essentials!
[Stay tuned for my minimal summer beauty look soon!]

Love, Chloe x

Leave a Reply

