Minimal Summer Makeup

Hey guys and Happy New Year! Australia is definitely in full summer weather, so I thought that it would be fitting for me to show you guys my minimal summer makeup look (when I do have enough effort to put some makeup on).

I start off with a clean and moisturised base, and I use whichever cleanser I am using at the moment and my ‘Olay Complete Daily UV Moisturising Lotion’, which I have been using for forever, and I love it! It has a pleasant and unique scent, is quite a thin consistency and has an SPF of 30.

After I have moisturised my face, I apply a thin layer of a tinted moisturiser or tinted sunscreen on with a damp beauty sponge. The products I use are the ‘Natio Tinted Moisturiser’ (which has an SPF of 50+)/’Ego Sunsense Daily Face SPF 50+ (Invisible Tint Finish)’ and either the green or orange sponge from the Chi Chi Complete Makeup Blending Sponge Set.

This is usually enough coverage for me in the summertime, where I don’t really mind my imperfections peeking through. No one’s perfect! However, I do like to set my T-Zone with a bit of translucent powder to get rid of the shininess. I am currently trialling the ‘Napoleon Perdis Camera Finish Close-Up Complexion Perfecting Powder’ (whew!), which is a pressed translucent powder. It has quite a bit of fallout when I tap my brush in it but does a great job of mattifying my skin without making the area powdery. Also, if I’m feeling up to it, I will set my under eyes with the ‘Australis Banana Powder’ just to mattify the skin there and to brighten it up a little.

After all of the powder, I will liberally spray my ‘Mario Badescu Facial Spray with Rosewater’ all over my face. Then, I will wait a few seconds for the mist of set into my skin, and then I will move onto brows.

In the summertime, I am not too fussy with how I look, so all I will do is sweep a bit of a tinted brow gel with fibres through. The one I prefer over all of the other one’s I have tried in the past is the ‘Essence Make Me Brow’, which has a tiny brush that is perfect for getting the desired shape.

Contouring is a step that I would typically do in the cooler seasons, whereas bronzing up is a must-do step in Summer! To achieve that sun-kissed look, I sweep my brush in a ‘3’ motion along my face – starting from just above my temples, down to just above my cheekbones and then finally along my jaw – with my new ‘Sweethearts Luminous Glow Bronzer’ by Too Faced. It makes my skin look healthy and alive, as all of the prior powders may have washed out my complexion.

An optional step is blush, which I sometimes apply. If I do, I almost always reach for the ‘Tarte Amazonian Clay 12-Hour Blush’ in Blissful, which is a matte warm peach. I opt for a matte blush because any highlighting in the summertime can make me look like I’ve just gone for a 12k run and dripping in sweat!

If I have the time for it, I will curl my lashes with a lash curler and either apply a light coat of my ‘Maybelline Full n Soft Waterproof Mascara’ or some ‘Lucas’ Papaw Ointment’ to my lashes, which surprisingly holds a curl well! If you don’t live in Australia or don’t have access to this ointment, Vaseline works just as well.

The next step is lips, which I will either choose a plain old lip balm or a tinted version. The ones currently in my purse are the ‘Nivea Kiss of Smoothness Hydrating Lip Care’ or the ‘Maybelline Baby Lips Loves Color’ in Berry Crush.

Finally, I will finish off with a few most spritzes of my facial spray, just to make sure everything looks seamless and also just because it’s so cooling in our hot temperatures!

 

I hope you enjoyed reading this!
Love, Chloe X

Leave a Reply

